People

Research Team at SDSU

Dr. John Weeks
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Geography and Director,
International Population Center (IPC)
San Diego State University
john.weeks@sdsu.edu

Dr. Douglas A. Stow
Distinguished Professor of Geography and Co-Director,
Center for Earth Systems Analysis and Research (CESAR),
San Diego State University
stow@sdsu.edu

Dr. Arthur Getis
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of
Geography San Diego State University
arthur.getis@sdsu.edu

Dr. Li An
Professor of Geography
San Diego State University
lan@sdsu.edu

Dr. David Lopez-Carr
Professor of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA;
Research Fellow
Department of Geography
San Diego State University
david.lopez-carr@ucsb.edu

Lloyd Coulter, M.A.
Research Specialist Department of
Geography
San Diego State University
lcoulter@sdsu.edu

Harry Johnson, M.A.
Information Technology Consultant
Department of Geography
San Diego State University
Harry.johnson@sdsu.edu

Key Collaborators on Recent IPC Projects

Dr. Allan Hill
Professor of Population and International Health
University of Southampton
United Kingdom
ah4e10@soton.ac.uk

Dr. David Rain
Associate Professor of Geography
The George Washington University
Washington, DC
drain@gwu.edu

Dr. Ryan Engstrom
Associate Professor of Geography
The George Washington University
Washington, DC
rengstro@gwu.edu

Dr. Samuel Agyei-Mensah
Professor of Geography and Provost of the College of Humanities
University of Ghana, Legon
samensah@ug.edu.gh

Foster Mensah
Executive Director
Centre for Remote Sensing and GIS (CERSGIS)
University of Ghana, Legon
Accra, Ghana
FMensah@ug.edu.gh

Dr. Mark Montgomery
Senior Associate
The Population Council
Professor of Economics
Stony Brook University, SUNY
mmontgomery@popcouncil.org

Dr. Deborah Balk
Professor
School of Public Affairs
Baruch College, CUNY
deborah_balk@baruch.cuny.edu

Dr. S.V. Subramanian
Professor of Population Health and Geography
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Cambridge, MA
svsubram@hsph.harvard.edu

Dr. Livia Montana
Research Scientist
Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
lmontana@hsph.harvard.edu

IPC Alumni

Dr. Tarek Rashed
Senior Research Professor and Director of Geoinformatics at the Polis Center
Indiana University-Purdue University
Indianapolis, IN

Dr. Debbie Fugate
Deputy Director
National Geospatial Program
USGS
Washington, DC

Dr. Justin Stoler
Associate Professor of Geography
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL

Dr. Anna Carla Lopez
Director of Research
Direct Relief
Santa Barbara, California
lopez.ac@gmail.com

Dr. Magdalena Benza
Senior Geospatial Scientist
Climate Corporation
San Francisco, CA

Dr. Marta Jankowska
Assistant Researcher
Qualcomm Institute
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, CA

Dr. Sory Toure
Remote Sensing Specialist
NOAA Office of Coastal Management
Charleston, South Carolina